Easy chickpea salad recipe

This recipe is something I started making only a few months ago. One day I needed lunch and started googling vegetarian sandwich ideas, and to my surprise I saw that people use chickpeas the same way as tuna or egg salad. While the recipes I found seemed tasty, they required ingredients I don’t normally keep in my house so I basically flavored my mashed chickpeas like I would an egg salad sandwich.

chickpea-salad

Ingredients:

1 can of chickpeas (drained, rinsed, and mashed)

3 tablespoons of mayo (I use Wegmans Organic)

1/4 of a small onion (chopped)

1/2 stalk of celery (chopped, I chop it finely so my one-year-old won’t choke on it)

1 hard boiled egg (shredded) (optional)

1 teaspoon Dijon mustard

Garlic powder (to taste)

Salt (to taste)

Pepper (to taste)

Paprika (I don’t really know if this adds flavor but I like the color)

Dried parsley (Also because I like the color)

Directions:

Mix all the ingredients together. That’s it!

Serving options:

My usually go to is to make this into a sandwich with whole wheat bread, lettuce and tomatoes.

Since my kid is on a bread strike, I’ve given this to him on crackers and he licks it off and tosses the crackers.

It’s also pretty tasty wrapped inside a leaf of romaine lettuce or alongside a salad.

Leave a Reply

